Graze 300 VA

Graze 300 VA logo

Graze 300 VA Mission Statement: To enable Virginia farmers to achieve 300 days of livestock grazing by facilitating better pasture management and environmental stewardship.

More than 50% of cow/calf production costs are found in winter feeding expenses documented in Virginia Extension budgets.  In some examples this cost can be as high as 75% of total annual cost on the least efficient operations.  Our goal is to improve both farm profitability and water quality by converting cow/calf producers to winter feeding management reliant upon grazing instead of a 4-month long dependency on more costly hay feeding.  Graze 300 VA is an educational initiative designed to address this issue.   Presently a small handful of producers in Virginia’s Piedmont and Shenandoah Valley regions regularly approach or achieve a 300-day grazing season.  The goal is to increase the number of cow/calf producers that graze 300 days per year or more. 

There are over 96,000 beef cows in the Northern Shenandoah Valley and Northern Piedmont of Virginia. If 20% of the farmers (19,000 cows) improve economics by $100 per head per year, the benefit would be $1.9 million.  When extended to 20% of the entire Virginia beef cow herd, this can generate an addition to participant’s bottom line of $13 million from the cost savings.  Extending the grazing season will benefit water quality through improved water infiltration, improved nutrient use efficiency, fewer barren areas in fields (winter feeding sites) and improved soil organic matter. The Chesapeake Bay TMDL gives nutrient and sediment credit for every acre of pasture converted into a grazing management system and every foot of stream where livestock are excluded

Graze 300 VA Twilight Tour

Friday, October 7, 5:30 PM until Dark
Greg Barham Farm
357 Salem Church Road, Stephens City, VA 22655

Greg has done some managed grazing on his farm with portable fence.  He is in the process of planning his grazing system.  During this tour we will discuss options for laying out a grazing system including ideas like where to put the waterers, where to locate the interior fences and how many permanent interior fences are needed.

There is no need to register in advance. 

In the event of inclement weather please call the VCE Shenandoah Unit at 540-459-6140 or call Bobby Clark’s cell at 540-333-3227.

Featured Publications

Contact

Bobby Clark
raclark@vt.edu

Corey Childs
cchilds@vt.edu

John Fike
jfike@vt.edu

Chris Teutsch
cteutsch@vt.edu

Carrie Swanson
cswanson@vt.edu

Tim Mize
tmize@vt.edu

David Fiske
dafiske@vt.edu

Carl Stafford
ccstaffo@vt.edu

Follow Graze 300 VA