## Horseshoe Nail Award

Each year at least one staff show volunteer receives recognition for their outstanding service – someone who goes "above and beyond" during the current VA State Show. Nominations are made by the approximate 125 staff show volunteers. A poem describes this volunteer's importance to our show:

> For want of a nail, the shoe was lost. For want of a shoe, the horse was lost. For want of a horse, the rider was lost. For want of a rider, the battle was lost. For want of a battle, the kingdom was lost, And all for the want of a horseshoe nail!

## Past Recipients:

- 1980's Danny Pearce, Gary Agnew, Janet Matkins, Thurman Register, Lynn Leigers, Keith
- 2002 Ronnie Marshall
- 2004 Bertha Durbin
- 2005 Connie Collier
- 2006- Kendell Kniseley and Bob & Julie Williamson
- 2007- David Law and VT Equestrian Team
- 2008 Tammy Nichols
- 2011- BeBe Fulton
- 2012 John Jones and Fallon St. James
- 2013 Eleszabeth McNeel and Janet Smith
- 2014 Marshall Cofer, Cookie Ketron, Helen Matney, NeNe Estep and Linda Fogleman
- 2015 Rose McDonald and Ronnie Marshall
- 2016 Donna Newbraugh and Sue McDonald
- 2017 Rebecca Adams, Amber Robinson, and Little Ben from the Virginia Horse Center
- 2018 Hannah McDonald, Brandon McDonald, Jacob Griffin, Hunter Shoemaker, Dominic Cox
- 2019 Hattie Robinson and Chris Ringer